When to progress

Hey Friends!

I’m new to IFR and have loved reading through the forum and seeing how supportive everyone is.

Currently, I’m playing piano and singing (started as a pandemic hobby to buy a piano and still going strong hahah) I also have a couple of ukuleles kicking around, soprano and baritone

I’ve read a lot of the book and am doing the activities (perfect for my learning style and beliefs about music) and also purchased the Ear Training for Musical Creativity course which I’ve done all the videos and exercises for over the last month or so. I am good at singing back the melodies and not bad at feel the numbers (not perfect though) and wondering if I should stick with it before starting the next ear training course while still continuing to go back and re-do.

Any thoughts on when is a good time to venture forward or calm down and really get everything mastered?

1 Like

In my experience, IFR encourages you to do what educators call “spiral learning”. You move forward while cycling back at the same time to learn the older stuff at a deeper level.

David Reed explains in one of the videos that you’re never really done with an exercise. And at some point you’re doing all the IFR exercises at deeper and deeper levels.

How fast you move forward is up to you. But in a sense there is no forward. It’s a big circle.

I wish you the same kind of experience with IFR I have had. It changed my relationship to music.

2 Likes

Hi @Martha,

My answer to that is essentially the same as the one that @hender99 has already written.

With IFR it’s not a case of ‘either / or’, it’s an on going, growing, ‘both / and’. :slight_smile:

I’ve been through most of the IFR courses & materials. My regular practice involves a gradually changing blend of meterials & approaches all those plus stuff from the IFR book (which is what they are all based on, after all).