Orient in the Key: Free player app for your IFR Jam Tracks practice!

Hello. I created a web application that can be used to help practice the skill explained in Ear Training for Musical Creativity, lesson 10 “How to get oriented in the key of the music by ear.” I wanted something that was flexible and easy to use that allowed me to control which harmonic environments I wanted to concentrate on, and hide the answer unless I wanted to check myself. I found managing this manually with my existing music player was too much effort, so being a software engineer, I went ahead and wrote this application. I think it’s pretty helpful and I hope you do as well! I discussed making this available to everyone here at IFR with @ImproviseForReal and David gave me the go-ahead to do so.

The web application can be found here: Orient in the Key. I did not purchase a domain for this, so the URL is auto-generated by Amazon Web Services.

Disclaimer: This app is intended for students who have already purchased IFR Jam Tracks Level 1: Seven Worlds. The jam tracks are copyrighted by Improvise for Real, so please purchase the tracks at their website before using this player app. You will not need to do anything to load the tracks into the player app. They are already in there. Buying the tracks from Improvise for Real is just the right thing to do!

Enjoy and let me know what you think!

3 Likes

I’m trying this at my next practice! It looks really useful. Thanks a lot for your effort and for sharing. (And yes, I have purchased the tracks some time ago:-)

1 Like

Neat. Thank you. Like Neil I purchased the tracks some time ago.

1 Like

This is great. I’ve been looking for something like this.

1 Like

Wowowowow. Your app seems to work great. Using on my work laptop now (lol), but will see what happens when I try to download it (or the app link) from my iPhone. Will use much more on my iPhone. I think this will be really helpful to me. Thank you so much.

1 Like