How good is your ear?

Hey folks,
One of my goals in music is to recognise the chords and melody in most songs I come across. I was wondering how close you have come to this goal using IFR. Would be nice and inspiring to see where everyone is at. I’ll start.

Recognising chords
I can follow the harmony in most blues songs, especially a basic 12 bar blues. I’ve heard the harmony go from the 5 chord to the 4 chord in some other songs. Also I usually recognise the 1 chord.

Recognising melody
I can’t follow entire melodies in music on the radio. But when someone plays single notes (one by one), I usually can recognise them. Slow melodies of about three notes I can usually recognise. But once they speed up a bit (to a regular tempo) I struggle.

Please tell me a bit about what you’ve learned!
Greetings, Michiel

4 Likes

Hi Michiel, how are you? This is a great question.

I have a bit of a different answer to it than yours, hope you appreciate it. As you know I am an IFR coach. This is what practicing, teaching, playing and listening with the IFR tonal approach did for me.

I now no longer come back from a rehearsal or gig with the suppressive thought “I must study harder”, or “I must try to remember the chords of this-or-that song” like I used to do a while ago. Instead, I check in with my body sensations when I hear something that strikes me and often wonder “Wow, what a lovely sound, what is it?” Sometimes, out of the blue, the mind recognizes too what my body already felt: “o wait, this is b6, b7, 1”. Or: “this the forward motion of a secondary dominant”.