Question Re 3D and Autumn Leaves and Mapping

Greetings everyone! I am new to IFR and this Forum. Glad to be here and everyone seems very friendly. Already very impressed with IFR and their fast responses to questions. Enjoying the method very much and having lots of fun!

Mapping using the major scale is really helping me understand the relationship between the scale degrees. It’s only been a few days and already I’ve learned the G Minor scale and its relationship to B Flat in Autumn leaves. Learning relative minors and understanding them was way into my future with traditional learning methods :slight_smile:

My question is this. If we map B Flat to discover the Seven Worlds, the 3D would not have a #5 because it is not in the B Flat major scale. Maybe IFR will explain 3D further along, but I happened to be working on Autumn Leaves presently. So, using the IFR method, how would we know to bring in the #5 on the 3D? In other words, if I go to map a new song that I’m not familiar with at all, is there training on the 3D so I will map correctly myself in the future?

Welcome to the forum @John524 :smiley:

The short answer (sorry I don’t have the time for more than that just now) is yes. :slight_smile:

If you’d like to check it out yourself, find the chapter ‘Exercise 4: Mixed Harmony’ in the IFR book (I’m assuming you have the book).

By the way @John524 are you aware that Autumn Leaves is the song we’re looking at in the first month of the new IFR Jazz Standards Study Group being run by David Reed (@ImproviseForReal) & @MireiaClua? We’re in the first week now of the study & just looking at the 2- 5D 1 part, but it seems highly likely we’ll be addressing that 3D later in the month?
Details of the Study Group can be found here.

Hi David and thank you for answering. :slight_smile: I will “read ahead” to understand 3D. I’m taking my time in IFR but ran into this in Autumn Leaves.