Making sense of Piano exercise

I have been learning the piano for about 18 months, using the Alfred & Faber Adult learning books. I have just bought the IFR book and am struggling with the piano exercises. They are “Discovery & Staircase”. I am struggling with the fingering as I am playing with eyes closed. I can work out where the next half step is, but I am having to wedge my fingers in between black keys so as to progress up or down the piano. Does it get better, or is there a possibility that I have not understood the exercise? Any help or encouragement would be much appreciated.
Aled

Welcome to the forum @Aledo.

It may seem like an odd suggestion since you’ve been learning piano for 18 months, but you might still find it useful to look at the IFR ‘Piano for Non-Pianists’ videos? Very early in the first video, David Reed (@ImproviseForReal ) explains how they are useful for pianists too.

They have been very helpfully gathered together by @Dave in a forum topic here.

I hope that helps.

Hi @Aledo, welcome to the forum! @DavidW’s suggestion is certainly a good one but I just have to interject here because you’re joining IFR at a very special moment. In two weeks we are going to begin a 12-week workshop called IFR Deep Foundations that would be perfect for you!

This workshop will be a deep dive into IFR Exercises 1 and 2, with video lessons for each instrument family. The video lessons for piano are much, much better than anything I was able to do myself in that informal tutorial series on Piano for Non-Pianists. We now have a real piano instructor with deep experience in teaching, performance, improvisation and composition, and the amount of love and care that he has put into the piano lessons is just awesome.