SingByNumbers-Track01

HI,
I am new to IFR and using the Video Ear training course.

I’d like to practice the SN_Track01 in the singing range D3>D4, where I am most comfortable in at this point. I notice that I have problems sometimes starting at the correct pitch or returning to a previous note correctly.

Is this particular track available in the key of Dmaj, and would it helpt me to correct the pitch related problems? My impression is that in Track-01 the three notes start out at C4.
Thanks.

Hello @Trappist1. Welcome to the forum.

The Sing The Numbers tracks are not available in multiple keys. Nor are the keys of the various tracks advertised. I believe this is intentional?

By my estimation StN 1 is in C, so that’s close to your preferred D. I believe other tracks vary from Ab to Eb?

I believe the idea is to sing along with @MireiaClua in an octave that you are comfortable with and get experience of hearing & using the numbers in a range of keys.?

1 Like

Hi and welcome to an exciting journey! I’ve recently done the video course and found it incredibly helpful!

Do you mean the first track in lesson one? I agree it seems to start in C but only covers 3 notes, not an octave.

D is then only 1 note up, the note 2 covered in the example so I’d be tempted to stick with it as presented if it was me. But I’m not an expert here.

Are you having problems with note 2? I did, always flat, but kept at it and eventually it sorted itself. Sing that off made getting the next note hard.

It’s not surprising 2 is hard as it’s not part of the nice chordal notes played by the guitar. It’s sounds dissonant against them so it’s harder to land on. After a while it became familiar. I think I also tried singing just with a keyboard (actually a phone app) and single notes to help get pitch without the backing harmonic context. Recording and listening helps too.

Hope that helps.

1 Like